Day 8: NYC heat wave

Remember all those things I said that we would do today? HA, so did not happen. We are horrible tourists, no?

In case anyone has forgotten, our planned itinerary went something like this:

  1. Leave the house by 9am and take a walk to Central Park, this walk takes about 15-20 minutes, as we live in midtown Manhattan.
  2. Walk north and head towards the Guggenheim Museum, we anticipated that this would take about 50 minutes based on Google Maps.
  3. Spend 1 hr in the Guggenheim Museum and catch a subway to the Bronx to watch a Yankees VS. Atlanta Braves game.
  4. Head to Sylvia’s in Harlem for a late late lunch.
  5. Go to the Museum of Contemporary Art (yeah, we only planned this and abandoned it like 3 times. Please see previous posts.)

Reality was something like this:

  1. Woke up at 9am, sat around for 1 hr and left the house at 10am. Walked outside and was slapped in the face by 95 degree Fahrenheit weather, that’s about 33 degree Celsius for any Aussies reading this.
  2. Walked to Central Park, drenched in sweat, blood and tears. Dragged ourselves around the park for about 40 minutes and realise we were still on the lower end of the park, we pretty much walked 15m and sat down for 5 minutes about 3 times. At the entrance to Central Park, there are loads of guys on those tuk-tuk things that try to get you to use their services, we politely declined because we thought we were machine enough to walk it, it’s also pretty pricey starting at $5, and then $1 for every street + tips. I’m sure they had the last laugh though, we were suffering about 40 minutes in, with no tuk-tuk in sight, we had a quick look at a map and realised we were about 20 streets away, we are such amateurs. After demolishing a hot dog and some snow cones, we made the unanimous decision to skip the Guggenheim and to head straight to the Bronx, it took us a while to exit but we got there! We managed to get onto Madison Avenue and saw Amanda’s dream Prada wallet and some bags (I have to admit that I got bag envy, I don’t even like bags?!?! So pretty!), I wanted to stay in the shop forever, the air con was blasting and it was amazing. We also found Laduree, ohhhh my love.. my darling… I bought 6 macarons and promptly demolished them, they are not as good as I remember.Image
  3. We went to the Yankee Stadium in the Bronx, went to the ticket booth and the cheapest tickets were $80, they are $9 online, we did not have a printer so we initially thought we’d just buy it there – we did not, we left and went to Sylvia’s. Though I can report that there were so many people and the atmosphere was fantastic, the stadium was so loud with people cheeeering, it would have been fun to go inside.
  4. Sylvia’s is a famous restaurant that is celebrating their 49th year this year (I think), they serve Soul Food and have been featured on Masterchef Australia. The restaurant is pretty close to the subway, so whoever goes there should visit. Their portions are HUGE. Amanda ordered Crispy Chicken with Beef Ribs, Anna ordered Crispy Chicken, and I ordered a Salmon Croquette (I had a hot dog, okay? I was not particularly hungry! I’m not weak!). I should also note that these are entrees, they come with 2 side orders, Doodles’s meal was like $18.95, Anna’s $15.95 and mine $12.95 – the size of these plates were GINORMOUS, yes, that big that it was deserving of CAPS. Doodles was the only one who finished about 90% of her meal, MACHINE. She promptly fell into a food coma the moment we hopped into a cab to go home, I wasn’t trailing far behind her, I kept banging my head into Anna’s shoulder when I was sleeping – I was only told about this, I remember nothing! The staff at Sylvia’s are amazing, they are so nice, one of the staff there ran out after us to ask how our meal was and to ask how we heard about them, they are so incredibly hospitable. I recommend them!
  5. We left Sylvia’s at around 2:30pm, we walked outside into the sweltering summer heat and decided that we needed a cab. We were not in the mood for the stuffy subway air. Doodles and I passed out in the cab and we got home before 3pm – the earliest time yet. We turned on the air con and all slept for about 2-3 hours. We were listening to the radio and were advised to stay inside the house tomorrow with aircon, or to go somewhere with an aircon, last year when the heat wave hit, 31 people died. That’s what you want to hear.
  6. 9pm – went to drinks in East Village at some bar that had 10 in it, I don’t remember. We had some Sangria and caught up with one of Doodle’s UTS friends who recently got engaged – like super recently, 1-2 days ago! It was so exciting! Congratulations to them both, they will have immensely good looking children. So it was nice to go out and celebrate.
  7. 2:40am – I am sitting here blogging while my two travelling partners have passed out. We have … plans tomorrow. I will not divulge our specific plans as I have done before, as it is moderately embarrassing when I come back to say that we haven’t done half of it.

I don’t know where to include this, so I’ll just dump it here so I can look back one day and laugh…African Americans love Amanda when she wears her fedora! If I had a dollar for every time someone tried to hit on her when she went out with that fedora… there was this one guy selling Yankee caps today at the Bronx subway station, he’s screaming “5 DOLLARS! 5 DOLLAR CAPS! 5 DOLLARS!” and the moment Doodles walks past him, his tone completely changes “Oh hey gorgeous, you’re the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen, that hat looks so cute on you.” THIS HAPPENS SO OFTEN?!?!

ANYWAY. That was fun. I spend a good 30min-2hrs a day recounting things, I will come to appreciate that I did this in a couple of years time.

I think the key thing to take away from this blog post is to not walk around in 95 degree weather, unless you want to have heat stroke and have your face get really intimate with the concrete floor. Look at the weather for your travels and plan your trip around it, you do not want to be walking about Central Park in weather like that, you want to be in a museum with air-con, you want to CAB IT TO A MUSEUM AND NOT TRY TO BE HEROES AND WALK THROUGH A PARK THAT IS PRETTY MUCH THE SIZE OF MANHATTAN. Also carry a big bottle of water at all times.

I have been told so many times that I am so incredibly abrupt with my blogs 🙂 if you know me, you will know I talk EXACTLY like that, isn’t this just like hearing stories from me directly, as if I’m verbally telling you? When we get back to Sydney, no one is going to ask what we did on our trip, Ha!

Okay. Ciao. I’m going to pass out on the couch now.

K.

So beautiful, so so beautiful.

Whaddup, Laduree? Why you so pretty?

Food coma. @amanda_doodles was a MACHINE!!!!! (Taken with Instagram at Sylvia’s)

The reason behind our food coma. The reason why Amanda is going to roll back to Sydney. I joke, I love you. You’ll waddle.

Sylvia’s Harlem Restaurant
No bookings necessary, just walk in.
http://www.sylviasrestaurant.com/ 

328 Lenox Ave New York, NY 10027
Tel: (212) 996-0660
Fax: (212) 427-6389

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Day 8: NYC heat wave

  1. Phillip Ngo says:

    Awesome post 🙂 I like to get intimate with carpet myself, we could be onto something!

Leave a Reply

