Day 5: Brooklyn & Coney Island

So… we were so tired yesterday that I did not blog, I feel horrible… because now I can barely remember the things we did/said, that’s the thing about blogging while travelling, you cover so many things each day that the moment you don’t write it down, your new memories sort of overwrite things. I’ll try my best though. It’s 12:22am, Anna and Doodles are asleep and I’m trying to do 2 days worth of blogging in a space of 15 minutes so that I can get some sleep! We’re waking up early and going to the Empire State Building! I turned on the dish washer and it is so loud, sometimes I just don’t think, I trust that they are both tired enough to sleep through it. :X Sorry kiddies.

We had grand plans today, we were meant to do the Statue of Liberty cruise, walk the Brooklyn Bridge and visit the Brooklyn Museum. I will tell you know, we abandoned 2/3 of those things! We had to catch the orange line at Rockafella to go Brooklyn (correct me if I’m wrong, Anna – my memory does not serve me well at this hour, and you know how horrible I am with the trains when I know I can rely on you, dude, what am I goign to do without youuu?). We took mass detours before we finally caught the subway, our detours included getting standby tickets for the David Letterman show (which is so close to us), going to the NBC Experience Store, trying to find the Jimmy Fallon standby tickets (failed, btw), and talking to some Rockafella security guard for 10 minutes about what to do in Brooklyn. Robert (the Rockafella Security guard) was extremely friendly and helpful with where to go since he was born and raised there, he suggested Coney Island, Prospect Park, his house… yes, he jokingly suggested his house. We ended up deciding to abandon Brooklyn Museum for Coney Island and off we went, the ride was meant to take 45 minutes but it didn’t feel that long, it’s pretty interesting looking outside the train into Brooklyn, it looks SO different to Manhattan, like something straight out of those movies.

So close to home! (Taken with Instagram)

Yay for being super tourists

Coney Island

Coney Island is the last stop on the Orange Line (catch D, I think, don’t listen to me actually, I think that this trip has taught me that I lieeeee a lot). It has an amazing boardwalk, a beach, a themepark, and yummy hot dogs, if you’re in the Brooklyn area, you should definitely visit. Coney Island is also home to Nathan’s Hotdogs, Amanda’s favourite hot dogs in the world now, they make amazing chilli cheese dogs and chilli cheese fries! There’s also another store in 7th Ave (I think? Again, I tend to lie a lot, don’t listen to me.) if you’re not bothered to travel all the way to Coney Island. We quickly ate lunch by the beach and did some people watching and then walked around the themeparks and squeezed into a photobooth and got some photos taken.

We strolled around and played some of those amusement park games, here, I learnt that Amanda Do is secretly an amazing dart thrower!!!! She’s crazy!! We played the game where you throw darts and pop balloons, the guy gave us 3 extra darts for $5, so we had 6 all up, I only managed to do 3, 1 in the first game and 2 in the second game! Anna did the same as I did, so we both ended up with this little ugly fish soft toys as a ‘you tried’ prize. Amanda is up, and pops 5/6 with so little effort, my jaw literally dropped, she won this cute little duck. We passed some dodgy tarot readers on our way to the station, but there’s not much of a story there.

Coney Island is an amazing place, lots of people, lots of rides, there’s people singing, people dancing, people fishing, people exercising – I love it!

Taken with Instagram

Our awesome Nike shoes. Love! This is what we do on a train passing through Brooklyn.

Taken with Instagram

Nathan’s famous hot dogs! They are so so good

Taken with Instagram

The gorgeous Coney Island

Coney Island (Taken with Instagram)

Some of my favourite people in the New York summer sun!

Taken with Instagram

Posing. Look at my shoes!!!

Taken with Instagram

Taken with Instagram

Brooklyn Museum

So we decided to head to the Brooklyn Museum after Coney Island, after all, we did buy a New York Pass ($180 for 7 days). The Museum is gorgeous!!!!! There are 5 levels I think, the 5th level had all these Renaissance paintings, the other levels had more paintings… I am super bad with art and what period and style is what and what… so I apologise for these fail descriptions. God. The dishwasher is still going, it’s so loud, I feel like I’m in the engine of a huge ship. Anyway, one level was solely dedicated to the works of Rodin… let me show you pretty much what we saw on the entire floor:

Taken with Instagram

Yeah, it’s just chilling around with a vagina for a head. Bizarre, I tell you! This stuff was EVERYWHERE on that level, we did some admiring and left that floor pretty quickly and jetted off to the Egyptian Exhibit. They had 4 mummies! The floor was huge and they had all sorts of stuff like parts of the walls, and little statues… they also had a very long photographed copy of the Book of the Dead, which was kinda cool. Amanda went nuts in there and took maybe about 100 photos while Anna and I wanted to cry from sore feet.

At this point, we were ready to go home, we had dinner plans at 9:30pm and it was probably about 7? I don’t remember actually, I don’t recall much haha I’m usually just tired and I start falsifying memories. We were meant to do the Brooklyn Bridge Walk and then have Grimaldi’s Pizza, ABANDONED! ABANDONED! ABANDONED! Anna made the executive decision that we were not doing a 1 hour bridge walk after 7 hours of walking, even Amanda, the one who is ALWAYS keen on walking, wanted to go home and rest before heading out again. So off we went back home.

Taken with Instagram

Taken with Instagram

Taken with Instagram

Mocking statues is such a tremendous amount of fun

Levain Bakery

We hopped onto an express train by accident on the way home and ended up on 72nd or something, Anna mentioned that the bakery I’ve been wanting to go to is here so we stumbled outside in search of it. Katie has been raving about these cookies and trip advisor rates it as the 2nd best ‘restaurant’ in NYC after Eleven Madison Park. The bakery is such a small hole in a wall, you walk downstairs and the area to order is like a 2mx2m box. I got a double chocolate chip cookie, dodo got a chocolate chip walnut cookie and Anna got both – smart woman, I want more now. They are the size of a muffin and don’t look particularly appetizing, but one mouthful and your life is changed… forever. Cookies are ruined for me forever now! These were AMAZING, soft on the inside, oozing chocolate, and crunchy on the outside – I will sell my soul for the recipe, and I will sell it now! I implore you to visit this little bakery if you visit NYC, you will not regret it. It’s on Amsterdam Avenue on 74th St. You really need to look for it, I don’t know how you’d find the place unless someone told you to go, you’re a local, or you have super crazy eagle eyes.

Massage

Our feet & backs were so so tired that we ended up going to some chinese massage place on 9th Avenue between 54th-55th, it was $18 for a 20 minute back or foot massage, I got two of them! Anna and Doodles got one each. The foot massage was a killer, I bit onto my hand the moment he put pressure onto the pressure points, so much paiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnn… things cracked under my foot that I never even knew existed! I felt so much better afterwards though, Dodo also commented on how good it was, though she wasn’t in any sort of pain. Anna’s masseuse had to get rid of a billion knots on her back, so she’s still in pain at this very moment from the mass back bashing.

Buddakan

I would say more about this place, but I have an entire post to talk about how amazing Eleven Madison Park is… so I will just say that Buddakan is very nice, highly recommended, get the Bo Bo tasting plate, it is chinese food but done a bit differently. We went there with Doodles so she could catch up with her UTS friend Vanessa and her boyfriend Andrew. Happy news came from this dinner, Amanda has plane buddies for her trip home! Thank goodness, I’m almost sure she can manage to get back to Sydney herself, but now I am 100% sure she will make it home!  Hm… I didn’t upload the dessert photos >=( I am lazy. I am now hungry, I realised about 1 hour ago that I haven’t had dinner!!!! Blah.

Taken with Instagram

Taken with Instagram

Taken with InstagramTaken with Instagram

Taken with Instagram

Taken with Instagram

 http://www.buddakannyc.com/

75th 9th Avenue New York, NY 10011

OKAY! Time to make a speed post about Eleven Madison Park!! No silly quotes from Doodles for Day 5, I’m sure she had many, but I can’t remember! Actually, from memory, I was the one who said a billion stupid things before 10am.

K.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Day 5: Brooklyn & Coney Island

  1. Phillip Ngo says:

    I lol’d at the abrupt noisy dishwasher realisation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

